News and Reviews

Cover Reveal, Release Date, and a Giveaway!

cropped-website-cover-3-16-2021-2.jpg

Happy November and Happy Thanksgiving to my American readers! I have lots of exciting news this month, so let’s get to it!

If you missed my post on Monday, I have now finished drafting and initial edits for For a Noble Purpose! This means I have now written five novels, which still seems completely surreal. Being a published author still seems like a childhood dream rather than an adult reality, but real it is. As always, I thank all of you for your supportive e-mails, comments, and reviews. They give authors powerful motivation!

Now for the big news. Originally, I promised you all a cover blurb and a release date in today’s newsletter. You’ll find that, but I also have a cover to share and a pre-order link! (November was a very productive month, my friends.)

For a Noble Purpose – All the Details!

for-a-noble-purpose-cover-front-final

What if your worst curse could also be your greatest gift?

Anxious to be free from a family legacy he would rather not claim and a slave-built society he doesn’t support, Tobias Lark believes the only way to find his perfect town is to create it himself. Joined by his three brothers, he sets out for the Washington Territory with a collection of carefully curated supporters, all determined to build a new life in the West. When a young plantation widow unexpectedly joins their party, he fears the curse she carries will crack the solid foundation upon which all his plans are built.

As a Missouri plantation owner’s daughter, Sarah Walcott has always experienced the best society has to offer, yet her charmed life also carries unexplainable tragedy. She’s been widowed six times, always on her wedding day. When a seventh husband meets the same fate, her parents determine to send her to an asylum, where she can no longer be a burden to them or a danger to society. In desperation, Sarah joins the Larks on their way to the West and soon learns that her saviors also harbor extraordinary gifts…ones that may finally bring her the answers she needs.

With each step along the trail, Tobias and Sarah encounter hardships that test their resilience and threaten the idyllic life they’re searching for. Will they stand together in the face of adversity or is the community of Larksong just another unobtainable fantasy?

Available Worldwide – June 7, 2022

Pre-Order Ebook Today!

For a Noble Purpose will also be published in paperback, but due to distribution channel limitations, is not currently available for pre-order.

 

Kate Breslin Paperback Giveaway

51dGt7qZL3LInspirational Historical Fiction author, Kate Breslin’s latest World War I novel released earlier this month, a tale of government secrets, hidden identities, and romance on the Scottish home front. Due to a pre-order mixup, I ended up with two copies of this fantastic novel and have decided to pass one along to you! Giveaway runs through Sunday, November 28, 2021. Due to shipping costs, U.S. residents only please.

Enter the Giveaway!

 

Twisted River in Paperback for $5

I honestly have no idea why Amazon keeps dropping the price on my second novel, Twisted River, but they have yet again. You can now grab a paperback copy for less than $5 USD. This book features fun and complex characters, a marriage of convienience, scandelous secrets, and a twist ending I hope you won’t see coming. Also, if you’ve read my War Across Waters series, you’ll have the opportunity to see the beginnings of a fan favorite, Emil Kisch. Note: You do not need to read the first book in the series to enjoy Twisted River.

Buy Now!

 

The Book Shop

Need a copy of my books? All four can be read on their own or in order of publication. Click the covers below to purchase! Available online in ebook and paperback or by request from your favorite indie bookseller or local library. For book club appearances, contact me here.

Unsettled Shores Cover - Front     Broken Lines Cover - Final 4-25-2020 small     Across Oceans Cover - 2.27 small     Twisted River Cover Final - 2-27-2020

Due to variability in social media algorithms, the best way to receive this newsletter is through e-mail. If you were directed to this site via social media or a search engine, you can subscribe to updates by entering your e-mail on the Contact page. E-mail addresses are never sold or distributed. You may unsubscribe at any time.

Follow me on:

flogo_RGB_HEX-114  Twitter_Social_Icon_Square_Color  glyph-logo_May2016 MeWe Logo 1454549143-1454549143_goodreads_misc  BB 96x96 S

COPYRIGHT © KELSEY GIETL 2021

Extended Sale and Ask me Anything

cropped-website-cover-3-16-2021-2.jpg

Happy October, readers!

This month has been a great for writing. I’ve passed 75% complete in drafting For a Noble Purpose (Larksong Legacy #1) with plans to finish the last 25% by the end of November. Only about 25,000 words to go. Right now my biggest challenge is figuring out how the climactic scene/big reveal will end up. This scene sets the stage for many plot lines throughout the rest of the series, so it’s important to get it right. Thankfully, I have the world’s best beta readers who won’t hesitate to tell me if it goes completely off track. Over the next few months, I plan to provide the back cover blurb, cover reveal, and if all stays to schedule, an official release date for early summer 2022.

Ask Me Anything: Character Edition

While work continues on For a Noble Purpose, I plan to share a series of character introduction posts for Over the Atlantic and War Across Waters. So, tell me, what would you like to see related to my characters? This could include aesthetic photos, fun facts, favorite quotes, etc. Send them over and you may see the answers included. Any answer that involves a major spoiler will not be posted publicly; however, I will reply to you directly. If you do not have social media, I will also provide summary graphics within my newsletters.

Amazing Deal

In case you missed the announcements, Twisted River is still on paperback sale at Amazon for only $5.99! I’m not sure when this sale will end, so make sure to take advantage while it lasts. Sometimes Amazon chooses to mark books down, but the great part for authors is that they covers the loss, not us. Which means, I will still receive my full profit even at the discounted price. It’s a win for me and you! 

What’s the story? After suffering too many tragedies and one enormous betrayal, Reuben Radford and Maggie Archer thought they could put their complicated history behind them in America. But when the past comes to call, they know that nothing will ever be simple again. As secrets are revealed and old wounds opened, one all encompassing question may be their downfall: Which path do you take when the person you are isn’t who you were supposed to be? Twisted River examines the fine line between what makes us and what breaks us, and the happiness we all must find in the most unexpected of places. Note: You do not need to read the first book in the series to enjoy Twisted River.

Buy Now!

TR - Social Media Cover

 

The Book Shop

Need a copy of my books? All four can be read on their own or in order of publication. Click the covers below to purchase! Available online in ebook and paperback or by request from your favorite indie bookseller or local library. For book club appearances, contact me here.

Unsettled Shores Cover - Front     Broken Lines Cover - Final 4-25-2020 small     Across Oceans Cover - 2.27 small     Twisted River Cover Final - 2-27-2020

Due to variability in social media algorithms, the best way to receive this newsletter is through e-mail. If you were directed to this site via social media or a search engine, you can subscribe to updates by entering your e-mail on the Contact page. E-mail addresses are never sold or distributed. You may unsubscribe at any time.

Follow me on:

flogo_RGB_HEX-114  Twitter_Social_Icon_Square_Color  glyph-logo_May2016 MeWe Logo 1454549143-1454549143_goodreads_misc  BB 96x96 S

COPYRIGHT © KELSEY GIETL 2021

Friday Fiction Reading Recommendations

Friday Fiction Cover 6-28-2021

Happy Friday, readers! Here are my reading favorites from July through September.

The Good German Girl by Erica Marie Hogan

World War II Historical Fiction

The Good German Girl“We sometimes forget there can be a difference between a German and a Nazi. When it comes to life and death, a gray veil falls across our view of the world. Even our view of people. You reminded me that no matter what country may have fallen under tyranny, there are a courageous few who will fight back if they must.”

Even though it takes place in 1944, I found The Good German Girl to be an incredibly relatable novel. Even today, our world feels like chaos, pitting friends against friends and entire groups denied our love and compassion simply because they do not hold the same beliefs. We’ve been told to reject anything that does not simply fall in line and anyone who questions why should immediately be silenced. But life is more complex than that. There are good people everywhere, those willing to stand up for the truth and protect their fellow man, even in places as horrible as Nazi Germany. We can have a love for our country and a loyalty to its founding principles even when we do not agree with what is going on inside of it. The Good German Girl dives into these aspects of our humanity, what loyalty truly means, and the lengths one person will go to save another, even when that person isn’t like themselves. This was a gritty and emotional read, bringing me to tears at several points, and so beautiful to experience. For more information, visit: Erica Marie Hogan

To Stand in the Breach by Danielle Grandinetti

Great Depression Historical Fiction

Inheritance battles, labor strikes, and a sweet Irish romance to root for ... To Stand in the Breach is the Depression-era tale you won't want to end.New Release October 12!

To Stand in the Breach is a quick read, but packed with action, well-rounded characters, and memorable moments. The story follows Dr. Katy Wells, one of the first female veterinarians in the small town of Eagle, Wisconsin who, although highly intelligent and able to stand with the best in her field, is often underestimated by the dairy farming community. Her best efforts to prove her worth are met with one roadblock after another through labor strikes, an inheritance battle, and navigating her blossoming romance with police officer, Joey Moore. Danielle Grandinetti gives us an introduction to Irish culture in the 1930’s and what it meant to be a female Irish immigrant during that time. Unfortunately, we really only start digging into the depth of these characters when the novella ends, and I’m looking forward to finding out more in the next novel, available April 12, 2022.

Thank you to the author for an advance copy. I was not required to provide a positive review in exchange for a free copy. All opinions expressed are my own. For more information, visit: Danielle Grandinetti

Secrets in the Mist by Morgan L. Busse

Dystopian Steampunk

IMG_4054“We live in a broken world, but we are not overcome by it.”

While I enjoy steampunk and science fiction, I typically prefer to watch rather than read stories about zombies (or the Turned as they are called here). Thankfully, Secrets in the Mist pleasantly surprised me. With its zipper flyers, metal men, and corsets on the outside, it feels like a steampunk novel which met I am Legend combined with a less graphic version of The Walking Dead’s early years. (You know, when the walkers were scary and it wasn’t just about living people brutally killing each other.) I enjoyed that there was a legitimate-and frighteningly relatable-reason for the existence of the Turned and that even in this fantasy world, Morgan L. Busse isn’t afraid to approach real-world topics like the effects of biowarfare, retaining faith in God even in a less than perfect world, and the value of human life in an overpopulated society. The author literally leaves us hanging in mid-air at the end and all I want is to read the next one…right…now. For more information, visit: Morgan L Busse

You Belong with Me and Until I Met You by Tari Faris

Contemporary Romance

Screenshot 2021-09-24 083901Every contemporary romance reader needs to have Tari Faris on your bookshelf. I picked her books up at the library one day, expecting a quick light romance, but they were so much more than I expected. They also contain deeply moving stories about personal wounds, fractured faith, and forgiveness. All of the characters are intertwined in some way whether through family or friendship, but the books can also stand on their own. These are steamy yet Christian romances (yep, it’s a thing) with swoon-worthy yet imperfect couples and happy endings. I don’t read a lot of contemporary romance, but Tari Faris is one of my new favorite authors! The third book in the series, Since You’ve Been Gone, recently released and I have it on my to-read list for next quarter. For more information, visit: Tari Faris

The Rejected King by Kortney Keisel

Dystopian with a Historical Feel

Untitled design (1)If you’ve been following me for awhile, you know that I am a huge fan of Kortney Keisel. She published four books this year which is amazing in itself, but all of her books are beautifully written as well.

The Rejected King is the first in her Desolation series, but it can be read at any point. I actually read it after finishing Book 2 and 3. Like her other novels, this one contains all the romance and witty banter we’ve come to know and love with a great introduction to the Desolation world. This book can best be summed up as a royalty version of The Bachelor (but so much better) with 50 ladies all vying for the king’s hand and of course, the king falling for his assistant and the one girl he can’t have. For more information, visit: Kortney Keisel

The Book Shop

Need a copy of my books? All four can be read on their own or in order of publication. Click the covers below to purchase! Available online in ebook and paperback or by request from your favorite indie bookseller or local library. For book club appearances, contact me here.

Unsettled Shores Cover - Front     Broken Lines Cover - Final 4-25-2020 small     Across Oceans Cover - 2.27 small     Twisted River Cover Final - 2-27-2020

Due to variability in social media algorithms, the best way to receive this newsletter is through e-mail. If you were directed to this site via social media or a search engine, you can subscribe to updates by entering your e-mail on the Contact page. E-mail addresses are never sold or distributed. You may unsubscribe at any time.

Follow me on:

flogo_RGB_HEX-114  Twitter_Social_Icon_Square_Color  glyph-logo_May2016 MeWe Logo 1454549143-1454549143_goodreads_misc  BB 96x96 S

COPYRIGHT © KELSEY GIETL 2021

Title Reveal!

cropped-website-cover-3-16-2021-2.jpg

Happy September, readers!

First, I would like to thank all of you who cast your vote on book titles and covers for my next series, Larksong Legacy. Some of the ones your chose were those at the top of my list, while a few others surprised me. I really appreciate all the feedback and especially the personal notes I received with your thoughts.

Before we get to the title reveal, let’s look at cover preference. As shown below, my readers overwhelmingly prefer covers where the character’s face isn’t showing. This is a very popular trend in historical fiction right now and it seems that there is indeed a demand for it. I am currently in the process of creating a cover design for Book 1 that includes this exact theme. More details to come!

Screenshot 2021-09-20 123643

Now for the moment you’ve been waiting for – title reveal time! Thanks to your feedback, I’ve chosen not only the title for Book 1, but the titles for all 5 Larksong Legacy novels. I really like how well these match up with the current themes for each novel and hopefully that won’t change as I get into the drafting process. Speaking of which, I have officially finished initial edits for the first 30,000 words. Only 60-70,000 to go! Cheers!

Blue Brushstroke List Maker Advocacy Interactive Instagram Story

The Book Shop

Need a copy of my books? All four can be read on their own or in order of publication. Click the covers below to purchase! Available online in ebook and paperback or by request from your favorite indie bookseller or local library. For book club appearances, contact me here.

Unsettled Shores Cover - Front     Broken Lines Cover - Final 4-25-2020 small     Across Oceans Cover - 2.27 small     Twisted River Cover Final - 2-27-2020

Due to variability in social media algorithms, the best way to receive this newsletter is through e-mail. If you were directed to this site via social media or a search engine, you can subscribe to updates by entering your e-mail on the Contact page. E-mail addresses are never sold or distributed. You may unsubscribe at any time.

Follow me on:

flogo_RGB_HEX-114  Twitter_Social_Icon_Square_Color  glyph-logo_May2016 MeWe Logo 1454549143-1454549143_goodreads_misc  BB 96x96 S

COPYRIGHT © KELSEY GIETL 2021

Want to Help me Choose a Title?

cropped-website-cover-3-16-2021-2.jpg

Happy August, readers!

Last month, I announced that the outline for my 1850’s series, Larksong Legacy, is now complete! I’m now jumping into the meat and potatoes of Book 1 and am pleased to say that the writing process is going very well. I’ve completed over 25,000 words and like all my other novels, it has already taken a few steps away from the original outline. Thankfully, so far, I’ve been able to keep my characters from wandering too far off the trail on their journey west.

In between discussions with my characters, I am also working on titles and cover options. The marketing aspect is one of the most difficult parts of being an indie author and good marketing always begins with what your readers see first – the title and cover. Whether they want to admit it or not, all readers to some level judge a book by these two things. You have to make your book stand out from the millions with one picture and usually five words or less. I think we would all agree that there’s a big difference between the title, Dogs Running Outside and Call of the Wild.

How would you like the opportunity to help choose the titles for Larksong Legacy? If so, I’ve created a 4-question survey that lets you do exactly that. It takes less than five minutes and is completely anonymous. Who knows, you just may see your chosen title on the cover of my next book. Thank you in advance! Link is below.

Vote on a Title!

 

The Book Shop

Need a copy of my books? All four can be read on their own or in order of publication. Click the covers below to purchase! Available online in ebook and paperback or by request from your favorite indie bookseller or local library. For book club appearances, contact me here.

Unsettled Shores Cover - Front     Broken Lines Cover - Final 4-25-2020 small     Across Oceans Cover - 2.27 small     Twisted River Cover Final - 2-27-2020

Due to variability in social media algorithms, the best way to receive this newsletter is through e-mail. If you were directed to this site via social media or a search engine, you can subscribe to updates by entering your e-mail on the Contact page. E-mail addresses are never sold or distributed. You may unsubscribe at any time.

Follow me on:

flogo_RGB_HEX-114  Twitter_Social_Icon_Square_Color  glyph-logo_May2016 MeWe Logo 1454549143-1454549143_goodreads_misc  BB 96x96 S

COPYRIGHT © KELSEY GIETL 2021